Post Week 10

Ramen Ya 
Shop 25G GPO,
350 Bourke Street
Melbourne 3000

Ramen Ya on Urbanspoon

Survived the craziest week of Semester 2. Jumped on the opportunity to go to the city despite having three hours of sleep. As much as I love exploring, I love good food too. So one of my habits is to check out food blogs and reviews before choosing where to eat. Ramen Ya had really good reviews on Urbanspoon so Ernest and I decided to head down to Ramen Ya for lunch first.

Both of us ordered a charshu ramen but I had the tonkotsu (pork) soup base while Ernest chose the shoyu (chicken & soy) soup base. In my opinion, the two most important aspects of a good bowl of ramen are the soup base & its noodles. While the noodles were springy and cooked perfectly, we both found the soup base a tad too salty. I was expecting a soup base which was flavorful but not too overpowering. Still, it was quite delicious and would rate it better than average! After lunch, we went to Captains of Industry for some coffee.

Captains of Industry 
1/2 Somerset Place
Melbourne 3000

Captains of Industry on Urbanspoon

Captains of Industry is a super retro cafe full of relics from the past. It’s hidden in one of the lanes some distance away from Melbourne Central, around a few other well known cafes (aka Manchester Press) in that area. The concept is pretty cool, a great place to read, hang out with your friends and people watch.

It was a really cold Saturday despite being Spring. Some crazy weather in Melbourne, nothing out of the ordinary though. Still, I love these Saturdays. This is the ideal lifestyle – work hard, play hard.

Peace out.

x.

2 comments

  1. I see the photos are getting better!! Haha and i feel like eating ramen now (:

    1. Thanks Liwen!! Trying my best to “up” my photography so that everyone can eat before the food gets cold. HAHAHA

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

